Autosave for Articles¶
Applies from version 2021.3
When you edit the content of an article, your changes are automatically saved as you type. Changes are in “draft mode” until you click the Save button. When you click Save, your changes are saved permanently and email notifications are sent out to the article author, editors, stewards, and watchers.
If you click Cancel instead of Save, your draft will still be stored behind the scenes. Next time you click the Edit button, you’ll get a message that there’s an unsaved draft. You can choose to restore the draft and continue where you left off. You can also ignore the message and make some new changes. If you ignore the message, the old draft is removed and replaced with a draft containing your new changes.
Drafts for each field in the article are saved separately, so you can cancel or save changes to one field without affecting drafts in another field in the same article.
Your drafts will be saved even if you refresh the page or log out of Alation. However, there are a few cases where changes are not saved automatically:
When you @-mention something. You must enter or delete some other text to trigger the autosave.
When you’re using the code editor. Your changes will be autosaved as soon as you exit the code editor.
When you add an image to a draft, the image is immediately saved in the Catalog’s image bank. If you discard the draft, the image will no longer be part of your article, but it will remain in the image bank.
Drafts are saved in your browser’s local storage on your computer. If you switch to a different browser, such as from Chrome to Firefox, or to a different computer, your drafts will not be available. You can find your drafts again by returning to the original computer and browser where they were saved. If you share a computer and another user logs into Alation using the same computer and browser as you, they’ll be able to see your drafts.
When you close your browser or delete your browser cache, all unsaved drafts will be lost.